Self-Destructing Records

Self-Destructing Records allow you to share records with user's outside of Keeper, while automatically deleting the record from your vault and disabling the share link at specified time

Overview

Self-Destructing Record’s utilize Keeper’s existing One-Time Share technology which allows time-limited, secure sharing of a record to anyone, even if they don’t have a Keeper account.

Self-Destructing Records take our One-Time Share feature even further by automatically deleting the record from your vault once the share link is disabled and the recipient’s access is revoked. This reduces your workload to revoke record access and removing it from your vault at a later time.

Self-Destructing Records

Key Benefits

  • Providing the most secure, encrypted method to send sensitive information to users outside of your organization without exposing sensitive information in plain text over email, text message or messaging.

  • Avoids the accumulation of unnecessary privileges within an organization over time.

  • Assurance that the details of a shared record remain with the recipient, on a single device.

Create a Self-Destructing Record

To create a Self-Destructing Record, create a new record as you normally would. Enter the record details and click Add Self-Destruct.

From the menu that is now presented, select when you want the share link to expire.

Once you've made your selection, click Save & Share to generate a One-Time Share link.

You have the option to copy the link directly, or send it in an invite or QR code format.

The recipient of a Self-Destructing Record simply clicks on the provided link and is instantly presented with the shared record in their web browser. One-Time Share links are bound to a single device, further strengthening security and preventing unauthorized distribution or viewing on multiple devices. The link will expire at the specified time or once the recipient has viewed the record for five minutes, whichever comes first.

Securely Share Files Using Self-Destruct

Keeper's Self-Destructing Records allow you to securely share records with file attachments that self-destruct at a specified time.

Create a record as you normally would and click Add Attachments to upload your file, or simply drag and drop the file directly into your vault.

Click Add Self-Destruct, select when you want the share link to expire, then click Save & Share to generate a One-Time Share link.

The recipient of a Self-Destructing Record simply clicks on the provided link and is instantly presented with the shared record in their web browser. They can then click on the file to download it to their local device.

Delete a Self-Destructing Record

You can delete a Self-Destructing Record at any time, thus disabling the share link by clicking Delete Now. Deleted Self-Destructing Records will appear in your vault's “Deleted Items” with the option to "Restore".

Last updated